34 comments on “Nana to Kaoru YA 57 (79)

  1. Thanks for the new raws! The expressions in this one were harder for me to read than usual, looking forward to the translation.

  2. Question to those of you who still read from this group: Do you notice a difference in the translation? Normally I wouldn’t care, but as this is just an interim thing I’m restraining myself from my usual hijinks so as not to cause a disturbance in your reading experience. Is the translation something you would want to see continually, i.e. if I were to hop on as a permanent translator for one of the series? Or is it not the translation you want from the exks-shootoff group? (I assume that’s why you still come here)
    I’d love to know, either way.

    • Well, I for one, thoroughly enjoy the translation. It is somewhat different, but not distractingly so. While reading this chapter my eyes were watering, but maybe that was just hayfever, yeah, that’s it, hayfever🙂

    • I admit to skim through the “other” translation as well, because I just have to know what happens. But there is clearly a difference in quality, so I only have 1 NtK folder and thats the exks-troup’s. If you are asking wether I noticed a difference in the translation of this compared to earlier chapters, I have to say I did not, maybe I will notice something when I reread the story the next time.
      Whats great about this group is that the choice of words fit the characters and that situations are taken into account. I sure hope you keep this all up!🙂

    • I know you and I have spoken about this topic before and I’ll be happy to admit openly. I look for flow and nuance fluidity when I read this manga and I’m not going to go into what my personal opinion of the “other” release contains. I don’t know a lick of Japanese so I’m pretty hampered by having to find people with the experience and same level of desire to work on the series that I have.

      • What’s going on is Spartacus has been buried under other projects and Sharky generously agreed to come in and help out for a few chapters, how many is still in question, but I hope he can stick around. But if you have T/Ced, how about helping out with TL on some of our backlog of YA chapters? All help is appreciated.

    • I for one appreciate that you came in to translate when Spart was not able. To be honest I believe the quality of the translation to be an excellent quality and if you were so inclined to continue translating I would be quietly cheering you on.

    • Disclaimer: I don’t speak Japanese.

      At first I was kinda upset with the other group and initially biased against them, but later I had to admit that their releases are actually pretty good. I loved exks’s old translations, but when I compare the newest chapters side-by-side, I personally prefer the way the other group does them. I still download and check Terra&co. for comparison’s/nostalgia’s sake, but… sorry, guys, I went over to the dark side.😦

      • Well, ani being the less than eloquent one of the bunch I’m surprised he was as tame as he was in his reply. Personally, I believe in the freedom of choice and while I personally consider it laudable at best that you prefer the other groups releases I am not going to comment or otherwise incite a word war about my own personal opinions.
        I will continue to do my own thing with people who want and wish to read the series we put out and would ask that if all you’re going to sing the praises of the other group be informed of both their pro’s and con’s with the handling of the series.

      • It makes me feel like I’m not doing my job very well if you truly feel that way, but I can only do so much with what Amazume writes. I’m not about to make up my own lines. Sorry.

      • Thanks for not going ballistic on me (especially anifreik). Of course you should continue doing your own thing! The bigger this fandom gets, the better. It was (and still is) a tough choice between the two groups, and I know neither got excellent grades on that one comparison test.

        • Well owl, in the grand scheme of things providing the level of conversation doesn’t degenerate into pointless finger pointing and pandering to childishness we all try to age out respective ages and not our show sizes. I’m not going to say I didn’t stick both feet in my mouth when the “other” group first started but that is then and this is now so we play the card that we’re dealt.

  3. Thanks for the update, only complaint is the file names don’t have the Underlines as spaces! That I promptly fix in 3 seconds.

Leave a Reply

